On the role of language 8.2: As an ersatz populist, my invective often alights on the aurally lacking…

 I admit that I may have tended towards hyperbole in the previous two postings, but the message is nonetheless clear: words are only empowered by the importance we place on them. A wise man (my high school A.P. English teacher, many moons ago) once remarked: “sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will kill me.” For the one and only time to the best of my recollection, he was wrong. Words can kill if and only if we allow it. Make no mistake, I am not arguing for a thick-sinned populace who can no longer distinguish between the harmless and the egregiously offensive; rather, I wish for a humanity that does not take itself so seriously.

Regardless to which religion one subscribes, it is fair to say that most individuals will question at some point as to why they were put on this earth. Speaking personally, as an atheist this is a relatively simple question: I exist due to the sequencing of various amino acids to produce long protein strands that (against staggering statistics) managed to morph into my present form; as such, I feel beholden to no one’s feelings as a matter of principle. While I may choose not to present myself as a boorish lout, I do so of my own choosing. For the Christians, life is a transitory event to be endured rather than enjoyed while waiting for the ultimate prize; thus, for what reason should they concern themselves with anyone else’s opinion?

Richard Bach wrote that we are “ultimately alone with our conscience”; thus, we are beholden to ourselves as final judge and jury of our thoughts, words, and actions. If we can therefore feel comfortable with ourselves, have we caused any serious damage to humanity? Assuming we are possessed of the basic qualities of a decent citizen, I would tend to doubt that we have affected any long-term wrongdoing. All the rest is sound and fury, from which we have nothing to gain save the adulation of people we would never willingly invite into our homes for dinner.  

For the great mass of the populace, I would ask but one question: what is the purpose of life? I will not endeavor to answer that question at the present time (surely by now you can be assured that I know the answer). I would, however, submit that it is not comprised of endless kow-towing to the whim and will of morons as regards our thoughts and expressions. If you find yourself “walking on eggshells” at some point in your daily travels, allow me to make a suggestion:

Stamp your foot.

Leave a comment